Knowing the Will of God

Originally posted on Catholic Sensibility:

My friend and frequent commenter on 2 Maccabees, Dick Martin, put a premise before me earlier today. Now, those of you who track recent comments here know that Dick has been trying to convince me of something for a while. And I’m not biting. But he hasn’t gone away.

Here’s the premise, which lost me from the get-go:

Faith can’t be applied to your life or prayers if you don’t know the will of God. Only if you know the will of God can your prayers be effective.

Granted, this is not his main point, namely that praying for the dead is fruitless, or even bad. But I doubt that anyone knows the will of God. The Psalmist describes God’s intimate knowledge of the inmost self of the singer (Psalm 139:1-5), who concludes in verse 6:

Such knowledge is too wonderful for me,
far too lofty for me to reach.

View original 219 more words

Leave a Reply

